Unwrapping Diwali!

Diwali or the festival of lights is one of the most popular festivals amongst the Hindus. Celebrated all across India with equal amount of zeal and enthusiasm, it is one festival that unites and represents the festive fever of the entire country.

Enlightening Diwali!
In India, which has a majority of Hindus, Diwali is the biggest festival of the year. But even then not many people know that Diwali is actually celebrated over a period of 5 days, as opposed to the popular belief of dhanteras, chhoti Diwali and badi Diwali. So let’s find out what these 5 days actually are.
Day 1: Dhanteras
Dhanteras is the first day of the 5-day festival of Diwali. It is also known as Dhantrayodashi and is celebrated on the 13th lunar day of Krishna Paksha in the Hindu month of Ashwin. The word ‘dhan’ means wealth and on this day, the ‘owl’ form of Goddess Lakshmi is worshipped for prosperity and well-being.

Dhanteras is of special significance for the business clan as it is considered to be the most auspicious day to buy or invest in things. Any new business venture started on this day is said to flourish as it has the blessings Goddess Lakshmi. Hindus usually buy gold or silver articles or some new utensils as the new ‘dhan’ is believed to bring good luck.

What to gift: Gifting a Lakshmi Yantra or a Kuber Yantra on this day is considered to be very lucky. READ MORE


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s